Handmade Kokeshi Doll

kokeshi dollI was in the mood to be creative tonight so I decided to have a go at making my own kokeshi doll. The wood I bought for it was already shaped luckily as I’m absolutely terrible at woodwork, despite really wishing I wasn’t! I hand-painted every bit of of the body myself and once it was dry I glued a black pom-pom on top of the head for the bun, along with two red pom-poms for the hair accessories. I then drew on the face using Letraset markers. It still felt like it was missing something so I drew in a flower pattern down one side of the body. I’m really pleased with how it’s turned out and very pleased for a first attempt! I hope you like it too!

2 thoughts on “Handmade Kokeshi Doll

Leave a Reply

