Kawaii Buys from Toki Yoki

Hi everyone!
Today I had a lovely day out in Newcastle with my mam and bought some very cute things from one of my favourite shops: Toki Yoki. I’ve mentioned this shop before but I can’t get enough of it! There’s always something new to buy every time I visit it, and I never get bored of browsing.

I came across this gorgeous Totoro clock and fell in love with it. I just had to have it for my room and couldn’t help buying it! It cost £10.99 which I thought was a pretty decent price. There were more Totoro clocks in other shapes, sizes and colours but this was the one that caught my eye.

totoro collage
I also spotted this Totoro contact lens case. I wear contact lenses all the time because I can’t even see my own hand in front of my face without them and I was bored of my ‘vintage’ Specsavers case so I snapped it up. It comes with two containers for your lenses, a little mirror, a bottle to put your lens solution in, and two other horrifying looking contraptions. They appear to be tweezers and what I can only describe as a spoon/plunger, so I think I’ll stick to taking them out with my hands. I couldn’t believe how cheap this was, it was only £3.99!

totoro collage new
I also bought a pretty blue bow ring that cost just £2.99. It looks lovely with my Zora Sapphire necklace, eeek. It’s so girly and sweet. I found the most beautiful scarf I have ever seen in my life too. It’s so sheer that you can see my bedding underneath in the photograph, but it has stunning artwork of an Oriental lady on it and I absolutely adore it. It cost me £6.99 and they have lots of other scarf designs too. I also bought super cute panda chopsticks for £2.99. I really don’t need any more chopsticks but I wanted them too much. How many pairs of chopsticks is a person allowed to have before it’s considered insane/worrying?

toki yoki collage
After we’d done a bit of shopping we went to St. Sushi for dinner (surprise surprise), but this time we went to the full restaurant on the outskirts of Chinatown, instead of the one in Eldon Square. I really wanted to try out this one because the menu was much bigger and they serve desserts there too.
I ordered cucumber maki, red pepper maki, stir fried beef with vegetables in garlic and steamed rice. It was all delicious. It’s so light too so you don’t have to worry about piling on about 2 stone with a meal.

st sushi collage
I also ordered fried ice cream. Yep. Fried ice cream. The idea seemed a little strange to me a first but my god, it was absolutely amazing. When I ordered it I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did but I’ll definitely get it again. To fill you in, it’s a ball of ice cream inside a Japanese pancake, fried in a light tempura batter. The best part about it is, the ice cream is still completely frozen inside. I was baffled at first but then greed took over and I stopped thinking and started eating. If you ever have chance to try it I really recommend it!

Because I’m a little piglet we also stopped off at my favourite Asian supermarket before going home and bought some Japanese snacks and Chupa Chups, purely because it’s hilarious to say.

collage food
I hope you’ve enjoyed this post! Unfortunately Toki Yoki doesn’t have a website but if you’re ever in Newcastle you should definitely stop by.
Before stuffing yourself silly in St. Sushi of course.

Arigatou for reading

3 thoughts on “Kawaii Buys from Toki Yoki

  1. YES! Deep fried ice-cream! I’m so glad you had some. I ate at St.Sushi 3 out of the 5 days we had down in Newcastle a few weeks ago. Aaand, I totally found toki yoki when I was down there thanks to your fantastic directions. I picked up a set of manike neko chopsticks too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

