Review: Etude House Sweet Recipe Cupcakes

Cupcakes finalHi everyone!

I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a while but I’ve been ridiculously busy over the last couple of weeks. Last week I went to Butlins, the most British holiday resort you will ever come across, so I couldn’t get to a computer (more on Butlins later).

Today I’m reviewing Etude House’s Sweet Recipe Cupcake Eyes and Cupcake All Over Color. I’d been debating getting the All Over Color because a lot of reviews had said it’s quite drying, and I wasn’t sure if I was going to like the colours of the Cupcake Eyes shadows. In the end, I decided to just go for it because they were quite cheap (All Over Color was £3.95 and Cupcake Eyes was £4.72 – the prices on the links are now slightly more expensive) and because they are cupcakes! The packaging is just too cute to resist.

Cupcakes4Cupcakes5

Cupcakes collageCupcakes collage2I got my Cupcake All Over Colour in RD301 (Raspberry Mousse Cake) and my Cupcake Eyes in BR402 (Chocochip Sweet Mint). They’re both good sizes and you get 10g of product with All Over Color and 3.4g of product with Cupcake Eyes.

I simply adore this packaging. It really is like carrying around a teeny cupcake! Because they’re so compact, they’re really easy to take out with you in order to top them up.

Cupcakes8The products come in little metal tins. These are great because they’re very strong and since I’m extremely clumsy it’s good to not have containers that are too delicate. When I opened up the tins I was really pleased to see how vibrant and pretty the colours are, I think the Raspberry Mousse Cake is such a beautiful shade of red. I was worried that the Chocochip Sweet Mint, would be too green but it’s a very muted mint colour and the brown is an absolutely gorgeous chocolate shade.

Cupcakes collage4Here are the swatches. I was surprised at how pigmented these eyeshadows were and I think the colours compliment each other really well. Both shades are shimmery but it is more obvious with the mint colour. Depending on how much you apply, you could use this eyeshadow during the day and for an evening look as you can tone down or really go to town with the shimmer. Because it is a baked eyeshadow it’s a new texture to me. It’s not quite powdery but not quite creamy either – somewhere between the two. Unfortunately I couldn’t get a good enough picture of this on my eyes, but it’s very true to colour and easy to apply.

Cupcakes collage 3And here’s the beautiful red shade! It’s quite a creamy lip product, and I was glad to see it didn’t feel as drying as some others had described it. As the name suggests, you can wear this all over – your eyes, cheeks and lips, but I only use it on my lips as I prefer powder blusher and I can’t really imagine wearing bright red eyeshadow. It applies pretty easily and while it is a lovely colour, it’s very sheer. However, it’s quite buildable. It will never give you an opaque lip colour but it does still look very pretty.

cupcake lips2Here’s what it looks like on my lips. It’s more of a cherry pink when it’s applied but I still love the colour. I actually didn’t find this drying at all, but to be on the safe side I used my Nivea lip butter before applying. I found that the best way of putting this product on was to use a lip brush. Not only is it more hygienic than repeatedly dipping your finger in the tin, it applies more evenly. Another great thing to mention is that is actually smells like raspberries! It’s a gorgeous scent but is still quite subtle.

I did find I had to top this up after eating or drinking, but other than that the lasting power was great. And since it’s so compact, topping it up wasn’t a problem.
The eyeshadow stayed on all day and didn’t need topping up once. I was so impressed with this eyeshadow I ordered another in shade Lavender & Grape.

I really love both these products and wish it hadn’t taken me so long to relent and buy them!
I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and that it’s been useful. If you have any questions about either of these products just let me know and I’ll try and help.

Arigatou for reading

5 thoughts on “Review: Etude House Sweet Recipe Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

