Karashi Mentaiko Spaghetti 辛子明太子

Mentaiko featuredI’ve only made this once before and to be honest, I found the flavour too strong to eat too much of it. After checking out some other recipes, I noticed people commonly added some other ingredients to improve the flavour. I bought some more mentaiko and decided to try it out. For those of you who don’t know, mentaiko is marinated cod or pollack roe, and karashi mentaiko is just a spicier version.

MentaikoI bought this from Japan Centre for £3.47. It contains four sachets in total: two sachets of karashi mentaiko, and two sachets of seaweed to sprinkle over the top. The instructions simply tell you to cook pasta, pour over the sachet of mentaiko, before topping with seaweed. But I made it a little differently today.

Mentaiko 2I cooked and drained the pasta (3 oz.) before adding a small amount of butter and mixing in to the pasta. Once it had melted, I also added two teaspoons of olive oil, a teaspoon of Kikkoman soy sauce, and some black pepper.  I then added the contents of the karashi mentaiko sachet and tossed the pasta until it was evenly coated. Finally, I sprinkled the seaweed over the top. It’s really quick and easy to make!

I found adding the few other ingredients really helped. The oil and butter made it easier for the mentaiko to coat the pasta, as well as toning down the strength of the flavour. And the soy sauce and black pepper just added some other welcome flavours to the meal. I enjoyed it much more this time.
This is a really popular dish in Japan, and I can understand why. It hardly cost me anything, only took around 15 minutes to make and was very tasty.

Arigatou for reading

Mentaiko 4

Leave a Reply

