Japanese Curry & Rice with Umeboshi

Hello everyone!
I’ve been looking for quick, healthy things to make as between my job and University work I never get much time to spend on cooking. I’ve also eaten way too much over Christmas and need to get back into a better diet so I thought; what better way to do it than try some Japanese recipes?I went to Japan Centre online, and ordered a few things that would be fast to make and delicious to eat. My order arrived this morning so I decided to try out some of the items.

The main thing I was excited about was microwaveable Japanese rice! It takes soo long to make from scratch and I’m not very good at cooking it yet so I was over the moon to find this. It only takes about 90 seconds in the microwave and you have perfect, fluffy, sticky rice.
I paired this with some Japanese curry sauce and vegetables – the sauce already has carrots, potatoes, onions and dates in it. I then plopped a little umeboshi (pickled plum) on top of the rice and voila!

It took in total about 5 minutes to make and was really tasty. I’ll definitely buy some more of the curry sauce as they come in different heat strengths and I’d love to have a go at making my own crispy prawns to go with it too.

Rice Rice 2Arigatou for reading

3 thoughts on “Japanese Curry & Rice with Umeboshi

Leave a Reply

